Episcopal Diocese of Virginia
The Episcopal Church »  |  The Diocese of Virginia


Vestry Leadership - 2016

The Grace Church  Vestry, the governing body of the parish, shares the leadership of the church with the Rector, and consists of 9 active parishioners who are 'members in good standing' elected for three-year terms.  They meet monthly to oversee the temporal affairs of the church, as well as to support the Rector and staff in promoting the spiritual welfare of the church. In addition, the vestry, in conjunction with the Finance Committee and Trustees, is accountable for the fiscal responsibility of Grace Church.

In the past, four  vestry members have been elected by the congregation during the annual meeting held each January. 

In 2013, it was decided to reduce that number to three new members each year.  The goal - by 2015, the Vestry will be a 9-member governing body.   Once in place, the vestry annually selects a Senior Warden and a Junior Warden to serve as vestry leaders for a one year term or until the following years vestry nominations and election.

Although vestry meetings are closed meetings and not open to the general congregation, everyone is invited to the annual meeting held each January .  


The current vestry is made of of the following members:


Term Ends

Jerry 'Dutch' VanVoorhis – Senior Warden


Bette Milleson – Junior Warden


Jon Cambell - Register


English Griffith Koontz


John Lincoln


LaShonda Preston


Jess Bacon


Colin Greene


Nadine Pluchinsky


Don De Haven - Liason to the Vestry of St. Mary's Church

1-year term